11 : JAICAE -at a glance-

(The Japan Association of International Commission of Agricultural Engineering)

About JAICAE

JAICAE, founded in 1984, is a federation of societies of agricultural engineers, each one representing the engineering and scientific societies concerned with its special area accredited by Science Council of Japan.

The purpose of the Federation is to promote the science and technology of agricultural engineering in the broadest sense in all agricultural and food systems, whether, for example, engineering, physical, biological, social or economic, in both theory and application including the development.

JAICAE is also closely related to CIGR(International Commission of Agricultural Engineering). As CIGR is global organization, JAICAE may be noted as the Japanese branch of it.

Therefore JAICAE-activities are not only for the participating societies in domestic events but also for everyone in international events sponsored by CIGR, in agricultural engineering research, development and education.

Eleven societies are involved in promoting and developing the area of agricultural engineering by organizing joint technical symposium and so on.

How JAICAE can be reached

Through your local society, to become active in international events by CIGR.

To get any required address or additional information, please contact the

JAICAE Secretariat

c/o JSIDRE, Shinbashi 5-34-4, Minato, Tokyo, 105-0004, Japan

TEL: +81 3 3436 3418, FAX: +81 3 3435 8494

How JAICAE's technical symposium is organized

JAICAE organizes the joint technical symposium on the day for annual General Assembly of 11-participating societies. The technical symposium is performed by the Council-meeting which has a coordinating function and is responsible for planning technical meetings and promoting the respective sub-areas of agricultural engineering.

What is JAICAE, What are its aims

The primary objective of JAICAE is to serve all those concerned with the theory and

application of agricultural engineering, where ever situated. To further this aim, it maintains working relationships with other organizations, national or international, especially with other non-governmental professional federations.

JAICAE provides a framework for collaboration between those working in agricultural engineering and promotes free exchange of ideas and experts within its professional fields.

JAICAE does not become involved in any kind of political activity, nor does it take a position in any such issue. JAICAE does not take part in any commercial activity with the explicit aim to acquire financial gain.

JAICAE pursues its purpose by organizing technical symposium, by coordinating agricultural engineering, recently as to JABEE and by any other means consistent with its constitution and which will enhance the interchange and circulation of information on agricultural engineering activities.

Especially, JAICAE is organizing "The XIV Memorial CIGR World Congress 2000 sponsored by Science Council of Japan as well as by CIGR". Information on the activities appears on the JAICAE homepage: http://bee2.en.a.u-tokyo.ac.jp/cigr2000/, and in the CIGR Newsletter.

JAICAE closely cooperates with such other organizations as SCJ(Science Council of Japan), JFAS(Japan Federation of Agricultural Societies) and JFES(Japan Federation of Engineering Societies).

History of JAICAE

In 1984, JAICAE was re-constructed by seven societies relating to agricultural engineering, namely Japanese Society of Irrigation, Drainage and Reclamation Engineering (JSIDRE), Japanese Society of Agricultural Machinery (JSAM), The Society of Agricultural Meteorology of Japan (SAMJ), Japan Association of Agricultural Electrification (JAAE), Japanese Society of Environment Control in Biology (JSECB), Japanese Society of Farm Work Research (JSFWR), Society of Agricultural Structures of Japan (SASJ). Prof. K. Shirai was elected as the first president of JAICAE.

In 1990, Association of Rural Planning (ARP) was accepted to join JAICAE.

In 1996, Japanese Society of Closed Environmental Life Support Systems (CELSS) and Japanese Society of High Technology in Agriculture (SHITA) were invited to join JAICAE for the preparation of CIGR World Congress 2000 in Japan.

In 1997, Japanese Society of Agricultural Informatics(JSAI) was also accepted to join JAICAE. Now(in 2000), JAICAE is the federation of eleven societies relating to

agricultural engineering in Japan, its population becomes over 20,000 engineers.

JAICAE has seven Presidents since 1984.

Prof. Kiyotsune Shirai (JSIDRE): 1984-1986

Prof. Seiji Sudo(JSIDRE): 1986-1988

Prof. Mutsumu Kadoya(JSIDRE): 1988-1990

Prof. Syoichiro Nakagawa(JSIDRE): 1990-1992

Prof. Fumihiko Sano(JSAM): 1992-1994

Prof. Toshio Tabuchi(JSIDRE): 1994-1997

The 7th President, *Prof. Yasushi Hashimoto(SHITA & JSAI)* was elected by the General Assembly in 1997 for the 1997-2000 term of office.

The JAICAE Secretariat has a permanent home. By invitation of the JSIDRE it has been situated in the office of JSIDRE:

c/o JSIDRE, Shinbashi 5-34-4, Minato, Tokyo, 105-0004, Japan

TEL: +81 3 3436 3418, FAX: +81 3 3435 8494, E-mail: siraisi@jsidre.or.jp

JAICAE Organization

Officers and Officials

Honorary Advisors Prof. Emeritus Dr. Fumihiko Sano

Prof. Emeritus Dr. Syoichiro Nakagawa

Council Members - 1997/2000

President Prof. Dr. Yasushi Hashimoto /YasushiHASHIMOTO@agr.ehime-u.ac.jp

Vice-president Dr. Ryota Nakamura / PXK13677@niftyserve.or.jp

Prof. Dr. Morimasa Nagashima

Secretary General Dr. Hidehiko Shiraishi/siraisi@jsidre.or.jp

Director Prof. Dr. Toyoki Kozai / kozai@midori.h.chiba-u.ac.jp

Prof. Dr. Tsuguo Okamoto / atsuguo@mail.ecc.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Prof. Dr. Kazuhiro Serata / serata@brs.nihon-u.ac.jp
Prof. Dr. Ichiro Aiga/ aigai@jimu.osakafu-u.ac.jp
Prof. Dr. Taich Maki / maki@agr.ehime-u.ac.jp
Prof. Dr. Osamu Kitani / kitani@brs.nihon-u.ac.jp
Prof. Dr. Kouki Shio / shio@ami.ipc.ibaraki.ac.jp

Treasurer Prof. Dr. Rokuro Yasutomi / yasutomi@nodai.ac.jp

Dr. Yoichi Nagasaka

Secretary Mr. Kanji Wada

Fellow (19 persons in 2000)

Kiyotsune Shirai, Seiji Sudo, Mutsumu Kadoya, Syoichiro Nakagawa, Fumihiko Sano,

Toshio Tabuchi, Hitoshi Chaya, Sichiro Kubo, Hidehiko Shiraishi, Kanji Wada,

Tuguo Okamoto, Osamu Kitani, Toyoki Kozai, Kazuhiro Serata, Ryota Nakamura,

Yasushi Hashimoto, Takaaki Maekawa, Taichi Maki, Rokuro Yasutomi